Light & Learning



  • The department on the basis of its research contributions has been funded through all the three phases of SAP (UGC) and COSIST, FIST and PURSE (DST) programmes.
  • The department has been TWICE given the status of Centre of Advanced Studies (CAS) in Geology by the UGC.
  • Around 70 individual major and minor research projects including Young Scientist, Women scientist and Kothari projects, sponsored by DST, CSIR, UGC, State government and others have been successfully completed.
  • Prof. K.S. Valdiya, former faculty member has been conferred with several National awards including Padma Bhushan and Padma Sri. He has also served as the Vice Chancellor, Kumaun University.
  • Five faculty members, Prof. I.B.Singh, Prof. R.P.Sharma, Prof. Surendra Kumar, Prof. A. R. Bhattacharya and Dr. Neerja Awasthi and five alumni of the department have been awarded the prestigious Alexander Von Humboldt fellowship.
  • Three faculty members, Prof. K.K.Agarwal, Prof. Munendra Singh and Prof. S.Sensarma have been awarded the DAAD fellowship.
  • Two of the faculty members, Prof. I.B.Singh and Prof. Surendra Kumar have been awarded the prestigious National Mineral award of Government of India besides several other alumni.
  • Two faculty members, Prof. K.K. Agarwal and Prof. Vibhuti Rai have been awarded the BOYSCAST fellowship.
  • Prof. Munendra Singh and Dr. Rajesh Singh have been awarded the Young Scientist award of the U.P. Council of Science and Technology.
  • Prof. D.S. Singh has been member of the First and Second Indian Expedition to Arctic. He has also been conferred with the Shikshak Sri, Saraswati Samman and Vigyan Ratna awards of the U.P. state government.
  • Prof. Birbal Sahni, the founder Head of the Department has been Fellow of the Royal Society, London (FRS) as well as the Fellow National academy of Science (FNA). Two other HODs, Prof. R.C. Mishra, Prof. K.S.Valdiya, Prof. S.B.Bhatia, Prof. I.B. Singh along with five other alumni of the department Singh have also been Fellow National academy of Science (FNA).
  • Prof. I.B.Singh, an internationally renound sedimentologist has co-authored a book Depositional Sedimentary Environment, which has editions translated into Russian and Chinese languages.
  • Dr. Shobhit Chandra and Dr. Sudhanshu Sinha, former students of the department have also been awarded the prestigious Jawahar Lal Nehru International Fellowship for carrying out research work in U.K.
  • The students of the department have headed almost all the key geological organisations of the country in the capacity of Director Generals of Geological Survey of India; Director General, Hydrocarbons; Director, Exploration ONGC; Director,  Atomic Mineral Division, Coal India; CMD, Power Grid Corporation, Director, Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeosciences; Director, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology etc.
  • A number of students have held in the past as well as are presently holding key positions in the Indian Administrative Services, Indian Police Services, Indian Forest Services and other allied civil services.
  • Many of our students are serving as Professors, Faculty and Scientists in several International and National universities and institutes.